East Sussex

Map of the East Sussex Area

Map of East Sussex

County Council

East Sussex

East Sussex in the South East of England is bound by the English Channel to the south. Part of the historic county of Sussex, the ceremonial and non-metropolitan county of East Sussex is bordered by the neighbouring counties of West Sussex, Kent and Surrey. The county traces its roots to the former kingdom of the South Saxons, which arose in the 5th century at the end of the Roman period in Britain.

East Sussex is sub-divided into five districts, including the largely rural areas of Lewes, Wealden and Rother, and the more urban districts of Eatbourne and Hastings. The popular seaside resort of Brighton and Hove is also found within the ceremony county of East Sussex, although it is governed as a separate city. The ceremonial county covers an area of 1,792 square kilometres or 692 square miles, while the administrative county is slightly smaller at 1,709 square kilometres or 660 square miles. Approximately 800,200 people live in the ceremonial county, which has a population density of 447 people per square kilometre (1,160 per square mile) according to the 2011 Census. The administrative centre of East Sussex is Lewes, a scenic tourism destination and communications hub.

Early industries in East Sussex included fishing, wool trade and iron mining. Many of these traditional industries have largely disappeared from the area. With major landmarks such as the South Downs National Park and Beachy Head, tourism is now one of the county's most important economic drivers. Other major attractions include Normans Bay, the Martello towers at Eastborune and Redoubt, the historic Battle Abbey, and castles at Lewes, Bodiam, Hestmonceux and Pevensey. East Sussex is also home to the University of Sussex, which is located in Brighton. Bexhill-on-Sea, Hastings and Eastbourne are among East Sussex's most popular seaside destinations. Other communities include the dormitory towns of Peacehaven and Seaford, the port communities of Newhaven and Rye, and the former market towns of Hailsham, Heathfield and Uckfield. Other important settlements include Battle and the county seat of Lewes.


Banks and Building Societies

Media and Newspapers

Tourism - Official Site