South Yorkshire

Map of the South Yorkshire Area

Map of South Yorkshire

County Council

South Yorkshire

South Yorkshire sits east of the Pennines in the south of England's Yorkshire and Humber region. Rock art from dating back 12,800 years and remains of Mesolithic huts from around 8000 BC are some of earliest records of South Yorkshire's long past. Today, the county's major urban areas include Sheffield, Doncaster and the Dearne Valley. Notable places of interest include the Roche Abbey ruins in Maltby, the 12-century Monk Bretton Priory in Lundwood, the 12th century Conisbrough Castle, and the stately Brodsworth Hall. South Yorkshire's population grew largely from industry, particularly mining and steel manufacturing. Coal mining once dominated northern and eastern parts of the county, while steel production in the 19th century transformed Sheffield during the Industrial Revolution into an industry innovator and manufacturing centre.

With the decline of mining and heavy industry during the 20th century, South Yorkshire became one of the UK's most economically deprived areas. As a result, it has been a focus area for funding from the European Union and its European Regional Development Fund. During the 21st century, communities in South Yorkshire have been the focus of redevelopment and economic diversification efforts. Sheffield's reinvegorated and growing economy is now largely focused on services, as well as distribution, finance, information technology, education and health. Rotherham is a leader in advanced manufacturing and technology, and is home of Corus Engineering Steels' main plant and the Advanced Manufacturing Park. The former coal town of Barnsley is also undergoing significant redevelopment with a new digital media centre, the Barnsley Interchange, and several major retail development projects.

The landlocked county of South Yorkshire covers an area of 1,552 square kilometres of 599 square miles and is bordered by Derbyshire, West Yorkshire, North Yorkshire, the East Riding of Yorkshire, Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire. According to the 2011 Census, the county is home to approximately 1.34 million and has a population density of 865 people per square kilometres (2,240 per square mile). The metropolitan county was created in 1974 from 32 local districts in the West Riding of Yorkshire, Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire. South Yorkshire includes the four metropolitan boroughs of Sheffield, Doncaster, Rotherham and Barnsley.


Banks and Building Societies

  • Branch finder for all Yorkshire high street banks listing the address, telephone number, facilities and opening times for each. Also offers savings and investment information, tips and comparisons.

Media and Newspapers

Tourism - Official Site